Dark ombré nails

Hello again,

For this look I did a simple three colour ombré. I find the trick when doing this sponge method is using colours that have a very high pigment. That doesn’t always mean expensive polishes are the best. Most likely you want to use a cream finish polish but trial and error is to be expected!

First start off with base coat. I use the Sally Hansen hard as nails hardener which is more of a treatment for nails that can also be used as a base coat. It’s pretty cheap – about 11 dollars from Farmers.

For this look I used three polishes. The black is just a cheap BYS polish in Black Satin, the purple is Flying Dragon by China Glaze and the blue is also by China Glaze in Shower Together. I got both of them off Trade Me which is where I get most of my nail polishes. I really can’t bear to pay $25 for one bottle of polish! Also, I find that BYS polishes are pretty good. From experience darker colours are really good and have high pigment but the lighter colours tend to streak.

What I love about this ombré effect is the amount of effort it looks like it takes. It doesn’t take a lot of effort BUT does take some patience and quick hands at the same time. What you need to do is get a cosmetic sponge (I got mine from the two dollar shop) and soak it in water for about 15 seconds, then squeeze the sponge so that it is just a little damp. This prevents the sponge drying up and breaking off into little fibres attached to your polish. Yuck! Then, stripe the polish on the sponge making sure it is nice and thick. I recommend keeping the bottle tops unscrewed while doung this mani. All you need to do now is sponge it right on the nail then wait for it to dry a bit and repeat. Depending on the desired effect and polishes used it may take 3 or 4 coats to get just right.

And as always finish with top coat.

This mani always gets me compliments. Not sure why people are always looking at my hands. Hmm..

This YouTube video was my inspiration.. 🙂

20120924-233600.jpg

Leave a Reply

